Pinspired Garden Project…

It has been a long time since my last attempt at a Pinterest inspired craft project. Probably since the Garden Stone debacle of 2012. But I saw some neat photos on the Google machine of upcycled tires turned into garden decor, and my heart began to flutter. I promptly sent my hubby to the local tire shop to retrieve some old tires they were tossing, and to Lowe’s for a couple cans of spray paint. That is LITERALLY all I needed to create my tire planters I was dreaming up in my head.

I liked the idea of the planters hanging vertically on the outside wall of a garage or shed, and I had the perfect spot in mind, but I wanted a more polished look than dirty black tires. Below I will photo-chronicle the whole  project!

 

Step 1:

First choose your spot-- you want to consider the amount of sunlight and rain is desired for whatever flowers you have in mind.  You also need to wash the tires with soap and water. Remnants of 'tire shine' type products will affect how the paint goes on...

First choose your spot– you want to consider the amount of sunlight and rain desired for whatever flowers you have in mind. You also need to wash the tires with soap and water. Remnants of ‘tire shine’ type products will affect how the paint goes on…

Step 2:

Then spray paint your tires whatever color you choose! I picked flat white and yellow to bring some springtime to my garden shed!  Make sure any little helpers have a mask on so they don't inhale noxious paint particles!

Then spray paint your tires whatever color you choose! I picked flat white and yellow to bring some springtime to my garden shed! Make sure any little helpers have a mask on so they don’t inhale noxious paint particles!

The glossy yellow took additional coats to cover, but one can was still plenty.

The glossy yellow took additional coats to cover, but one can was still plenty.

Polka dots! Cute right?  (One can of each color was enough to do base color and dots on two tires.)

Polka dots! Cute right?
(One can of each color was enough to do the base color and dots on two tires. Allow tires to dry thoroughly!)

Step 3:

I recruited hubby and his power tools for this step... Decide which end you want to be the "bottom" of the planter and drill some holes for drainage.

I recruited hubby and his power tools for this step… Decide which end you want to be the “bottom” of the planter and drill some holes for drainage. Not too shabby, hubs. Not too shabby.

Step 4:

Now's the fun part! Choosing and planting your flowers! I picked petunias for their tendency to cascade when in full bloom, and  I placed a small sprig of ivy in the center. Don't you just love the color?

Now’s the fun part! Choosing and planting your flowers!
I picked petunias for their tendency to cascade when in full bloom, and I placed a small sprig of ivy in the center. Don’t you just love the color?

And lastly…

I used large hardware hooks to hang them so that I can take them down if "maintenance" is necessary... TA-DAAAAA!

I used large hardware hooks to hang them so that I can take them down if “maintenance” is necessary…

TA-DAAAA! :)

TA-DAAAA! 🙂

This was truly a fun, easy, and cheap project. I got the tires for free, and the paint and flowers cost about $12 total at Lowe’s.  And now I have something pretty to look at all summer! And maybe I’ll swap the petunias out for Pansies in the fall!

What do you think?

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinspired Garden Project…

  1. Carmen Moore says:

    Really cool ideas. I love what you did and am going to try and try it. I live in Iowa and well we are just starting to get into Spring so I am anxious to get planting flowers. I’m excited to try this!! Thanks for sharing. Carmen in Iowa

    • I’m sorryI’m just getting round to seeing this and saying Hi! It has been too long since I have attended to my writing, and I miss the kind of connections it brings! Enjoy your spring!

Leave a Reply

