My confession.

I owe you guys an apology. I’m a total fake. I’m not sure if I have just realized this or if I have known all along and just hidden it away. But I’m a fake and a phony. I’ve been calling myself the “dramafreemama” all this time… and it’s just simply not accurate or true. Because I’m a mom. And all you other moms out there know– if you’re a mama, (or you have one), you’ve got drama. Kids are little, life-sucking, purveyors of drama. You’ve got drama at every turn, every meal, every bedtime… life as a parent is pretty much a continuous theatrical production.

And there’s all sorts…

“You threw away my favorite crayon- you’re so mean” drama. –Never mind the fact that it was broken in two places and the only thing you have colored in three months is my picture window.

“I’m huuungrrrryyy…. except I don’t want any of the 19 things you’ve just offered me to eat” drama. This one is best reciprocated with “You don’t have to like it, you just have to eat it” drama. Or my personal favorite… “Just take 3 more bites” drama.

“He/she took my stickers/truck/barbie/fruit snacks/marker/soul” drama. –Anything and everything was always the property of a toddler first and fairly. Any second possessor is a damned thief. Thems the rules.– Employing the “If you can’t share it, nobody can have it” method will ultimately just increase the decibel level of the drama rather than squash it. Tread carefully.

Furthermore– I cried yesterday because my laundry hamper is heaped up taller than my three year old. Like a lot taller. And then, said three year old let the dog in the house caked with mud. And then I dropped a jar of minced garlic in the kitchen floor. And then I sneezed twice (cleaning up the garlic) and peed my pants. And so I cried again. Dramatic enough for you?

And so you see… the “dramafreemama” has got drama. Every day. So by “dramafree,” I guess what I mean is I don’t need YOUR drama. Because I have plenty of my own.

This is my confession. Submitted in all seriousness.

-the (nothardly)dramaFREEmama

No, seriously.

No, seriously.

The lead players in my awesome little drama...

The lead players in my awesome little drama…

 

 

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My confession.

  1. Windy says:

    Debo,
    Our children are not drama, they are our life. Haha Drama, in a sense, is added, outside, unnecessary, negative influence on our lives. With that being said, that doesn’t make it any easier to navigate. Small children (and everyday life) can make life seem like its full of drama, but that would depend on how you view it. Yes, they color on walls, make you trip on the dog and drop whatever is in your hand, and yes sometimes you just want to cry out of frustration, but they are amazing little creatures that teach us (as adults) at how simple life can really be if we just let it. They make us smile and laugh way more than cry. Navigate away sweet captain of your families life boat. Don’t let the “outside drama” in and you will still be the dramafreemomma.

    love ya, Windy

  2. Dee Dee Becker says:

    You have such an intuitive way with words…as in, you always seem to say exactly what I am currently feeling or what I have felt in the past…or will probably feel again any minute now, if I just wait for it. Maybe it’s because we are sisters – so connected and alike in ways that are superhumanly beyond explanation – and additionally because motherhood also has a way of creating a bond between women in that “I-know-exactly-what-you-mean-I-empathize-with-you-kumbaya” kind of way! Either way, I can’t wait to see what you do/write next…the anticipation is always a blast! Love you!

Leave a Reply

