They were right…

It has been exactly two weeks since I have been able to say, “I have two boys.”

That’s two weeks of re-learning to breastfeed (–it’s easier this time, but still hard).Two weeks of fastening tiny diapers in the dark with clumsy hands and groggy eyes (–and pretending to be a fully functioning, rational adult during the day.) Two weeks of figuring out how to handle the needs of a newborn and a toddler at the same time (–the juggling never stops!) Two weeks of watching my tiny miracle sleep and listening to his whuffly breathing (–and realizing, they were right.) Your heart truly does expand to equally adore the two babies you made. You see, I HATE admitting this, but I was worried…

Having spent the past (almost) three years getting to know Zac and becoming everything he needed me to be, I was panicked that I wouldn’t know how to do the same for an entirely different individual. And how would I ever have time? But they were right. [They, being all my mommy friends (and my mommy) who have multiple kiddos.] You make time. Your lap has two sides for a reason. And the heart of a mommy has no limits. And I was smart to buy a bigger rocking chair for my little sidekick “helper” to squish in beside me when I am feeding or rocking the baby. Besides, showering every SINGLE day is for losers.

And so I’d say we are all doing a pretty good job adjusting… a few temper tantrums and potty accidents, but nothing serious. Oh, and for Zac too… HAHAHAHA I AM SO FUNNY. <sorry> No but really, my big boy has been a bit more of a whiny baby, which I expected. As in, throwing himself in the floor and shrieking “I FALLLLED I FALLLLLLLED I NEEEEEED YOOOOOUUU”– And the Academy Award goes to…!!! But we are pouring on the love and attention and exaggerating the praise when he is good. I am trying to not bribe him to behave, but a few extra rubber dinosaurs and sheets of stickers may have come his way these past two weeks. And he might have had lollipops for breakfast today. <Don’t judge me.>

So I thought I’d close with some advice to anyone expecting their second little one… but then I remembered I have no idea what I am doing and that I’m just wingin’ it, so that’s just silly. So I will close with some insanely adorable photos instead. You’re welcome.

XOXO- the dramafreemama

baby10

Sharing secrets…

Going for a walk... someone really likes his "big boy seat" in the new stroller! Like... a lot.

Going for a walk… someone really likes his “big boy seat” in the new stroller! Like, a lot.

970752_10200598089428033_1484192846_n

Eskimo kisses mean “I love you”

431864_10200596238341757_1264449864_n

Daddy time ❤
(Seriously, am I the only one who thinks that seeing a man adore your children makes him exponentially sexier???)

 

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to They were right…

  1. Lynette says:

    Congrats on the little dude. Two boys are exponentially more fun than one, when they aren’t fighting. (Sigh)

  2. TK says:

    Congratulations, and love these pics!

Leave a Reply

