Inspiring Blogger Award! WOOHOO!

This week, my blog was given the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” award by Linda’s Corner , creator of the Baby in Bloom website. Thank you so much, Linda! I am beyond flattered to be included, as I love being a part of the “Mom-Blogging” community! There are just so many cool people to connect with that love doing what I love doing– being a parent!

Anyway, this award comes with the following rules:

Keeping the "Blogosphere" a beautiful place...

Keeping the “Blogosphere” a beautiful place…

  1. Display logo on blog.  (TA-DA) –>
  2. Link back to the person you have so inspired. (See above!)
  3. Tell 7 things about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 other bloggers and link back to them. (Holy shit, 15?)
  5. Perform 1 random act of kindness and include it in your post.

My 7 things:

In my early twenties, I vehemently expressed that I DID. NOT. WANT. CHILDREN. I said this often and with fervor. I was mistaken. My son, (and VERY soon to be 2 sons,) are the air I breathe and the ground under my feet.

Somebody is getting promoted to big brother very soon!

Somebody is getting promoted to big brother very soon!

I don’t like television. [GASP!] Programs worth my time and mental fortitude are such a rarity these days that I don’t even bother. Except for “Good Luck Charlie.” That shit’s funny.

I am somewhat of a social media junkie… I realize this sounds contradictory (and maybe even hypocritical) following my soapboxy sounding item #2. You’re thinking, social media can’t be any more worthwhile than TV shows, right?  You’re right. It’s not. I don’t care. Tweet me, baby! @1dramafreemama

I’m hopelessly cheap, and yet too busy (read:lazy) to be a good couponer. I have not yet solved this enigma.

I am a terrible procrastinator (or an excellent one, depending on your perspective) when it comes to shit I don’t wanna do, especially school work. (grading papers etc.) I will find a million other things I “need” to do to avoid a stack of essays to score or a pile of paperwork to complete. As in, I “need” to pin 87 baby outfits…

This is my bearded hubby... he's mine.

This is my bearded hubby… he’s mine.

Some of my weaknesses/addictions include: A good clearance sale (Oh, Zulily, you just get me!) Sweet Frog (Because it’s damned delicious.) A well-groomed beard. (SEXYYYY.) Good manners. (This will never go out of style for me.)

I’ve been told that I am “creative and resourceful in the kitchen”… Translation: I’m a decent cook. I occasionally share recipes under the tab dramafreeRECIPES above! Most of them are fast, cheap, and easy… that is entirely coincidental, and not a reflection of my character. No really.

My 15 “Inspiring Blogger” nominees… in no particular order:

  1. Their World We Live in
  2. Tanis Miller
  3. Real Young Housewife of Southern VA
  4. Baby In Bloom
  5. The Shitastrophy
  6. Spit-up in the Suburbs
  7. Crazy Dad Life
  8. This Is Mommyhood
  9. Momma’s Bacon
  10. Chockababy
  11. Let Me Start By Saying
  12. Moms Who Drink and Swear
  13. Sisterhood of the Sensible Moms
  14. Bad Parenting Moments
  15. Poop on My Hands

It’s hard to give a “shout-out” to just 15… as the mom and dad blogging community has grown to be this enormous family of awesomeness. But these blog sites are where my mind (and my browser!) goes when it wanders away from work… check them out! For laughs, for parenting advice and tips, for sharing what we can all relate to… doing the best we can as parents.

My random act of kindness:

I treated my dad and his lady friend to ice cream…

Yesterday at our local Sweet Frog™ yogurt shop, the owners of the franchise donated their profits to a local family who just lost their daughter in a terrible car crash. The line was out the door, down the sidewalk, and wrapped around the building… continuously from early afternoon until 10pm. Although I didn’t know the beautiful girl I saw in pictures all around the shop where she used to work, I felt honored to be there with her friends, schoolmates, and pretty much the whole community of our small town, and to be part of the fundraising efforts for her family. I read today where the total was somewhere around $8000. (WOW, that’s a lot of sprinkles!) I know money can’t resolve her family’s grief, but it was still a beautiful gesture on the part of the franchise owners in honor of their former employee.

Rest in Peace, Savannah. hand heart

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inspiring Blogger Award! WOOHOO!

  1. Thank you so much for the mention! It feels good to know someone out there reads and appreciates you. 🙂 Keep up the good work, and the inspiration!

  2. Linda says:

    Thank you! Love what you wrote! Glad to know you liked it 🙂

  3. Pingback: Not Just ‘Inspiring’ But ‘VERY Inspiring’ Blogger Award | Their World We Live In

  4. Pingback: A Moon of Uranus, Evolution and Extra Saliva Lollipops, Wrap-Up WE 4-27-13 | Their World We Live In

Leave a Reply

