Spring Christmas?

Easter baskets are like Christmas stockings with a handle. Except the candy is egg and bunny-shaped instead of snowman and Santa-shaped. Some edible goodies, a trinket or two, NOTHING “MAJOR.” That’s pretty much it. But recently, parents are getting the wrong idea and turning Easter into spring Christmas… Ahem–I am barely recovered from actual Christmas! So may I please take pause to say, “You’re doing it wrong.”

Upon reading a post from a fellow mom-blogger over at Mommifried, I learned that I am not alone in this sentiment! So who is perpetuating this madness, with hundreds of dollars spent on extravagant gifts and toys, formal portraits, and GODHELPME, pet ducklings and bunnies to ignore after April??? I don’t know, but I’m here to tell her, (politely of course), to fucking STOPPIT– I can’t keep up… Here is what my little dude is getting in his Easter basket this year:

A Crest Spinbrush… The one Santa put in his stocking died & it’s time for a new one! He loved that damned thing– And it counter-acts all the sugary goodies, no?

So many choices! And under $7!

So many choices! And under $7!

A pack of “Big-Boy” undies… Potty training is going well– Kudos, Kiddo!

There is nothing cuter than a tiny hiney in boxer briefs!

There is nothing cuter than a tiny hiney in boxer briefs!

2 Berenstain Bears books– one of our current favorites to watch and to read. We are beefing up his collection a little each “occasion.” He got 2 from his Valentine (Ok, his mommy)… perhaps a couple more at birthday time in June!?

Paperbacks are between $3-$5 on Amazon!

Paperbacks are around $4 on Amazon!

A Dinosaur Stamp set… I found this cool Melissa & Doug one on Totsy a couple months ago for $7.99. But I don’t think they are usually more than $10-$15 at toy retailers!

Supervise-- or your furniture, walls, & linens be damned.

Supervise– or your furniture, walls, & linens be damned.

Mini boxes of raisins! He thinks it’s candy. Don’t ruin that for me.

A little sugary, but still better than fruit snacks or candies!

A little sugary, but still better than fruit snacks or candies!

Bunny marshmallows– we snack on marshmallows after school. And goodies shaped like bunnies are exponentially more delicious. That’s just science.

NOM NOM NOM

NOM NOM NOM

Lollipops! (Aka “Quiet-Makers.”)

10/$1 at CVS! And the sticks are plastic so they don't get all nasty.

These are 10/$1 at CVS! And the sticks are plastic so they don’t get all nasty.

Balloons! (Very cheap entertainment… and way fun in the bath!) Always with supervision of course!

$-Tree Hollaaaa!

$-Tree Hollaaaa!

Stickers! Because who doesn’t love stickers? (Available at pretty much any drugstore, Wal-mart, Dollar General, etc…) And what? A buck or two?

Heaven knows where these will wind up!

Heaven knows where these will wind up!

And that’s all, y’all!

My total bunny spendage comes to under $50… (I bought a nice Monogrammed 31Tote last year to reuse every year.) Remember Christmas when you spent $600 and your toddler played with the M&M candy-cane ornament and a ripped giftbag for two days straight?

Cheers to keeping it simple this holiday!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Need more ideas for keeping it simple for your toddler’s Easter loot?

-bubbles         -crayons/coloring books       -small notebooks/pencils       -matchbox cars        -glowsticks
         -mini goldfish cartons          -nutella go-packs             -small stuffed toys          -mini puzzles
-fruit roll-ups         -letter/number magnets        -sippy cups              -bath squirters          -wind-up toys
          -bubblebath/soaps        -flower seeds/mini pots         -yogurt dots           -play-doh         -sidewalk chalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What about you? Do you go all out for Easter or keep it to a dull roar? How do you feel about those pre-stuffed baskets? Convenient or impersonal and lazy? Comment below!

You can also connect with me on Twitter

 

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spring Christmas?

  1. Kristen Dunn says:

    I totally agree! Kaya got books from the $ store & a bunny mask, as well as sippy cups & jammies because I was going to buy those anyway! I can only afford Christmas once a year! Plus, if you go all out for every occasion, what’s so exciting about Christmas anyway?

    • ZACtly. 😉 I have trouble conveying this notion to hubster sometimes, as he was raised “a touch” spoiled. Every holiday was an excuse to shower him with expensive toys and tons of gifts. His only sibling was a brother 15 years his senior… so he wound up with some unfounded “Only Child Syndrome!” LOL. I was- BY NO MEANS- deprived as a kiddo. But as an adult, when I feel like going overboard, my bank account calmly reminds me to pipe the fuck down.

  2. Emily Holshouser says:

    I am buying myself a few airplane bottles for my easter basket, thanks very much.

  3. amysteindler says:

    “Remember Christmas when you spent $600 and your toddler played with the M&M candy-cane ornament and a ripped giftbag for two days straight?” Beautifully said, Dramafreemama. You could put a stick of wood in there, and as long as you pay attention and hang out with your little one, they’ll find ways to amuse themselves with detritus of all kinds.

  4. Meghan says:

    I love it! Easter baskets should be fun little things! Here are a few more things to add to your list- bubbles, sand toys, seeds and little pots to plant them, silly putty, play doh, squirt guns, baby doll bottles or diapers, hair elastics, lip gloss, sunglasses, sun hats, flip flops, or slippers. ( I may have repeated some, but I couldn’t look at your post and comment simultaneously) I love your blog!!

  5. Under $50 here, too. And you know what? I’ll take an entire basket of raisins! Send em’ on over! 🙂

  6. My mom bought me the prettiest ring holder shaped like an Eiffel Tower for Easter. My baskets were always just candy and a few little things, not these 2nd Christmas stockings!

Leave a Reply

