$10 Awesome Casserole…

Just sharing a quick one this morning… Because anytime my lunch tote (last night’s leftovers) makes me excited for 11:15 to arrive, I think that’s a recipe that ought to be passed along. HA! And the fact that it yields 10 servings for around 10 bucks is pretty sweet on this teacher’s budget! So here it is…

I call it “Cheesy, Beefy, Noodly, Awesomeness.” My 2-year-old calls it Mommy Cassa-wole. Which is just cute.  

Da’ Gredients:

1 lb ground beef (I like 85/15 or better)

Approximately 2 cups pasta of choice (I used rotini, b/c that’s what was open.)

1 can of cheddar cheese <condensed> soup (I used Campbells™>

1 1/2-2 cups frozen peas & carrots (store brand bagged veggies do just fine…and you could use any mix you like, really.)

1 cup sour cream

Shredded cheese for topping (I used some parmesan and cheddar)

Da’rections:

1-Brown ground beef w/ seasoning salt & pepper (I also added garlic and onion powder).

2-Cook your noodles to slightly al dente.

3-In a big ass bowl, mix those two cooked ingredients with all the other stuff. (Yes the vegetables still frozen. Just trust me.)

4-Add a little water it to get a less solid, more “pourable” consistency. Use your casserole experience to judge this one. Remember your frozen vegetables will yield some water during baking, which will cook your noodles the rest of the way.

5-Pour into a (sprayed) 13×9 baking dish of your choice and bake at 400 for 20ish minutes.

             <Remove from oven and admire bubbly goodness>

6- Sprinkle with cheese and place back in the over on broil for 3-5 minutes to get a good melty, golden goodness on top.

TA-friggen-DA!

TA-friggen-DA!

What you have here is awesome.

It may sound like I just made “hamburger-helper” (eww) way more complicated than it needed to be, but trust me it’s better. And it yields a lot more food. (And without the mystery powder that comes in that box.) Enjoy!

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to $10 Awesome Casserole…

  1. Stephanie says:

    That sounds delicious! I love having casserole recipes. Easy and tasty! I will have to try this one!

  2. Colleen says:

    Looks great and like something my kids will eat!

Leave a Reply

