Good morning, from teacher land…

Alternate title–> COFFEE::COFFEE::COFFEE::COFFEEcoffee

In the school I work in, teaching eleventh grade English, we operate on a 4-by-4 block schedule. That means every semester, I get new kids and start my course all over. This is awesome for a lot of reasons… A new motivation and a sense of refueling, a clean-slate fresh start feeling, and a “home-stretch” sort of attitude. (Eventhough we have quite a ways to go!) What I like most about second semester is doing it better than first semester. It’s a shot at eliminating the glitches or the little nuances of a lesson that just didn’t go as planned. Replacing old shit with new shit that works better, if you will…

On the first day I assigned my kiddos a series of journal prompts. This gives me a first look at their writing skills as well as a sneak peek into what they’re all about… I also had fun answering the prompts myself and getting to know my new crew, so I thought I’d share them here too!

I’m a firm believer in…

Manners. The golden rule. Stepping outside your comfort zone. I’m honest enough to say I’m no good at that last one, but I’m still growing.

Three of my favorite things are…

Cooking good food and sharing it. Watching my son learn new things. Puppies. (duh.)

The most afraid I have ever been was when…

On June 12th, 2010, 2 days after my Zac was born, the Women’s Center at the hospital said I could go home… with my baby. Like, to raise him. They didn’t even ask me if I knew what I was doing. I didn’t.

The last movie I saw was…

BAAAHAHAHAHA. Yes.

BAAAHAHAHAHA. Yes.

So long ago I don’t remember? Unless you count the 348 times I have alternated Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory & Babe in the past few months.

 

One thing I can’t stand is…

Basic lack of consideration. Hypocrisy. Gum chewing. (All of these make you look stupid.)

A short term goal I have is… A long term goal I have is…

Make it to 6 months breast-feeding our May 21 coming attraction… being pre-pregnancy weight/size by Christmas 2013. I suppose those are both rather short-sighted. But as a busy working mommy, I feel like Friday is 100 years from now. That’s as “long-term” as I can muster!

 

That’s all from me today… Happy Monday. Blah blah blah.

Click this pic to vote for me! Please!

Click this pic to vote for me! Please!

(Please share in the comments your response to any or all of these starters!)

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

