Dear parents of school-aged kids… I KNOW.

I know.

What you think, believe, say, cook, watch, and stand for at home… I know. How do I know? Because your kid(s) mirror it, repeat it, brag about it, or tearfully confide it daily in my classroom. You have no secrets. None.

I know things aren’t going to get any better until this changes…

I know how you feel about me, this school,my principal, the cafeteria food, the dress code, and your child’s report card.

I know how you feel about the upcoming election, the economy, your girlfriend, and your job.

I know how much you pay in rent every month…. and I know how much you paid for the rims on your car.

I know how much money you gave your son for that new pair of sneakers (iPod, concert tickets, etc)…. even though you told me he’d be grounded for not turning in his school work. I also know what he really spent it on. I know that this bothers me more than it bothers you.

I know what music you like (nice ‘ringback’ tone by the way)… what movies you allow your kids to watch, and that you didn’t come home until after your kid had already gone to bed last night. Whenever that might have been. (I also know your shift ends at 4PM…)

I know your kid needs your attention… (because he is desperately seeking any kind he can get within the walls of my classroom.)

I know you screened my call last week. Twice. I know I’ll keep calling.

I know when your kid is smart and capable and just not encouraged. I also know when she truly struggles and has weaknesses that you play off as a bad day… or a bad teacher.

I know what you value. And disregard. Guess what! Your kids value and disregard the same things…

I also know that your kid will lie… so I don’t always believe everything I hear about you.

So before you call ME…. and want to challenge me on what you DON’T KNOW about my classroom, my teaching style, my policies, my deadlines, my character, or my integrity….  Just remember–

I KNOW.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

After sleeping on this post, I feel it is only fair to add something for the rare and admirable parents that I meet along this journey also… so, my hat is off to those parents who do know that I’m doing the best I can for their child, just like they are.

I know you didn’t get home until after midnight because you went straight from your day shift to a waitressing shift, just so your kid could have those sneakers he’s been coveting since 8th grade. I also know he wont get them until Christmas.

May God lift you and your family up.

I know you didn’t take my call last night because you had your hands full with 3 kids, dinner, homework, a band fundraiser, and soccer practice; and I know you’re doing it by yourself because their dad is in Afghanistan. I know I can’t even begin to fathom this.

I know your child’s grandparents live with YOU, not the other way around. And I commend you for that.

And I know that there’s probably plenty I don’t know too. So I’m trying to be fair.

With all my love and support,

     The dramafreemama

 

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dear parents of school-aged kids… I KNOW.

  1. Sarah Douglas says:

    Yesterday, I loved this post. Today, I love it even more (and I’m crying in my pumpkin flavored coffee). Your opinions and ideas have always been inspiring, but the way you put them to paper is magic 🙂

    • dramafreemama says:

      I am absolutely honored and humbled by your words. Thank you for taking the time to leave them. Hope little Drew is doing great and keeping ya on your toes! XO

  2. And I didn’t think it could get much better……….

  3. Diana says:

    Love, love, love. You’re the greatest.

  4. Kristen Dunn says:

    I’m a little embarrassed to say I teared up a bit.. but it’s so true; especially as a former student that spent a ton of time in your classroom. Very honest and fair words, good job.

    • Thank you so much! And to be fair, if you had gone to the rest of your classes, you wouldn’t have been in my room so much! Lol. So glad you were! Love you, former student turned great friend. Ps- I’m embarrassed to say there’s not much of that pumpkin ice cream left…

Leave a Reply

