Pinterest project: Glitter Heels!

Got a nice pair of pumps with scuffed up heels? Or an old pair that just needs a new look? 

I have a pair of classic, black pumps that I borrowed from my sister to interview for my first big-girl job right out of college, back in 2004… Well, I got the job, and my sister never got her shoes back. Eight years later, you can imagine that these pumps have some wear to them! But I’m not a heel girl, so they have only been worn periodically, and the heel part was the only part in need of some lovin. And I just happened to run across a super easy Pinterest project…

I know what you’re thinking– Pinterest usually gives it to me hard, and right where I asked for it. Need we recall the Father’s Day garden stone fiasco? But this one actually worked out great and was a very cheap way to revive a pair of shoes too nice to toss. 

Here’s what you need:

The cost of materials fell under $15, and there is plenty left over for other projects

A jar of Mod-Podge- it’s gluey glossy stuff used for all sorts of projects (Michaels: $6.99).

Some fine glitter- I used Martha Stewart’s “Onyx” (Michaels: $4.99).

A small paint brush- I used the little brush that comes with a blush compact because I forgot to buy one and I never use those on my face anyway.

A small bowl you don’t mind getting gluey. (Or a disposable one.)

A couple Q-tips

Here’s what you do:

Pour some Mod-Podge in a small bowl, and pour in your desired amount of glitter. (I used about a 3rd of the jar.) Mix it up with a Q-tip until all blended.


Use small paint brush (or makeup brush, in my case) to paint the mixture onto the scuffed up heel. HINT–> If your heel has little rough, fly-away pieces, use a nail buffer to smooth them away before you paint! But go light so you don’t rough them up even more. Then, use a Q-tip to perfect edges, so you have a nice sharp line .

 

 

 

 

 

Let dry about 30 minutes, then apply another coat. You can keep applying until desired color/sparkle is achieved! I only did two.

BEFORE!

 

AFTER!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now I just need a date night so I can wear them! (HINT, HINT, Hubby!)

 

 

DON’T FORGET TO CLICK THE “TOP MOMMY BLOGS” BADGE ON THE RIGHT SIDEBAR OF THIS PAGE! YOUR CLICK COUNTS AS A VOTE FOR dramafreemama! And follow me on twitter!


 

 

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pinterest project: Glitter Heels!

  1. Chuck-Nasty's Old Lady says:

    You are speaking my language, girl! LOVE glitter ♥

Leave a Reply

