Vacation recovery…

In the wake of vacation seems an appropriate time to reflect… after all, that’s how this blog started, nearly one year ago after returning from a weekend in Annapolis visiting family. My first post was about what I learned on my first trip out of state with a baby. Today, in the wake of our first ever (longer than a weekend) family vacation (and my first trip anywhere with an evil two-year-old) I, again, have much to reflect on.

Like the Griswolds, only with cuter bags.

The Perry family was lucky enough to be invited to Manteo, NC to spend five days in a BEEE-YOOTIFUL waterfront home in Pirate’s Cove with some dear friends. So, DUH, we went. I know I don’t have to tell you mamas that when you pack everything you think you’ll need (and that will fit) into your car, and tote two kids someplace far from home, vacation is a silly word for it. But it was a fun trip full of sand, sun, water, food, friends, and a teeny bit of relaxing. And as is my usual goal along the way, laughs and lessons were combined and plentiful.

Here’s what I learned about ME… I spend way too much time and energy worrying about what other people think of my child’s behavior. In public, at home, anywhere. I worry that his typical two-year-old behavior is viewed by others as obnoxious and that I must not be doing something to meet his needs. I worry that my parenting tactics are always under careful scrutiny and judgement. I worry about this constantly, to the point where I make awkward self-conscious comments like, “Bet you wish you didn’t invite us now, huh?”  Chirp… chirp…

Here’s what I learned about other stuff… Salt water makes toddlers digest very very quickly. Ten year olds need bed times too. Really fancy steam pots are not for bait. Hot sunscreen feels gross. The huge, gorgeous bedroom with the jacuzzi tub and private balcony fills with brutal sunlight at approximately 6:02am. Fruit snacks melt. Neither time nor distance can hinder a true friendship.

We made a lot of memories and, as usual, I took a lot of pictures. The kids had more fun than they could stand and the adults were along for the ride. I got to spend some time with one of my closest childhood friends… and realize all of a sudden that we’re grownups. Shit, when did that happen? And we made the most of each vacation day we had. Even with a nasty storm a’brewin one night!  Here are a few of best pics…

The two loves of my life… loving life.

Beyond a certain level of cute, there really are just no words adequate. Exhibit A.

Brotherly love.

Zac “helping” me with some sunblock… because all the cool people have random SPF 70 fingerpaint streaks on their legs!

Family photo… everyone’s looking!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also came away from vacation with one kick-ass recipe for spicy pretzel snacks. AKA crack-pretzels. Click HERE to see how easy they are to make!

And finally, I highly recommend hiring a gay house sitter. I came home to a clean house (as in, polished cabinets clean), happy spoiled dogs with clean coats, and fresh crab dip. WINNING.

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vacation recovery…

  1. Caitlin Hoffman says:

    I’ve read a few posts on your blog, and I’m loving it. Someone else tagged me for a Liebster Award, and so I’m tagging yours next. Check out my blog http://themommycrashcourse.wordpress.com/2012/07/17/liebster-award/ to see what it’s all about. It’s nice to be recognized by other hard working moms!

Leave a Reply

