A big # 2…

Two years ago today, I was exactly 40 weeks and one day pregnant… one day past my calendar due date with Zachary. I’m not sure why that extra day was so significant, but I seem to remember feeling different that day. I had only just left school/work for the duration of the school year the day before, expecting a “Zac-Attack” any day (minute?) now. I had Shrek™ feet– so I’m told; I couldn’t see them. My hands looked like they should have Oscar Mayer™ stamped on them. I walked like Violet Beauregarde  from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, after the blueberry gum incident… I was certain the rolling process would begin momentarily. I tinkled myself regularly, following a sneeze or a giggle. I was fairly sure things were beginning to orbit me. It was, indeed, a very sexy time for me.

Last day of school with my amazing honors kids… they were so good to me in my last trimester!

Five days later, Zachary Newman Perry was born, without incident. I owe this to the help of a wonderful nursing staff, an experienced and calm doctor, and a slammin’ epidural. I was also grateful to my mother, sister, and husband for standing beside me in the hardest journey of my life, and to the rest of my family for waiting patiently in the hallway!  My best friend, Amy, was more excited than a kid watching Barney with a fistful of pixie stix. My father was my biggest fan and so proud of his new grandson that he truly beamed. I was, luckily, blissfully unaware that I looked scarcely different than I had the day before. If not, worse for the wear. When it was time to sign the paperwork to leave the hospital, the line with the “X” next to it said “Mother,” and I looked around for mine to hand her the pen. Oh shit– they mean ME. I am someone’s mother. Subsequently, everything I  thought I knew about anything went sailing out the window. A new definition of love, family, and responsibility lay before me.

I don’t know how in the world you make something so beautiful doing something so dirty!

About to take baby home… shit’s about to get real.

……….Two years later, I would like to say I have it all figured out, this parenting gig I mean. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.  Okay, sorry. Shew! Anybody who is a parent or has one knows this is a daily learning curve. You never have it “all figured it out.” And as soon as you think you understand one facet of your child, the little cherub is going to change it up on you. That’s what babies are, little rule changers. But I can say that, two years later, my husband and I have grown exponentially together, and that I like the people we are today much better than the ones we were Pre-Zac. I can also say I am planning an epic Sesame Street party to end all Sesame Street parties to celebrate our second year of survival!

I have planned the menu, ordered the cake, and bought the decorations. I have organized party favors by child gender and even bought Sesame Street character face tee-shirts for my little family to wear! (The little guest of honor is Big Bird!) Yes, we are thooose people.  But the creative project for this party I am most proud of, thus far, is my big #2. Allow me to clarify… I bought a huge piece of project board, the kind with foam on the inside so it’s nice and sturdy. And today during my lesson planning block, I visited the art department to borrow a cutting mat and an X-acto knife. And I proceeded to make a giant #2. I have ordered a whole stack of photos to arrange a collage of the best moments of Zac’s 2nd year on this big #2. I cut holes in the top so that I can hang it with a ribbon on the front door. Cute right? I can’t wait to see how it turns out! The party is this Friday– Photo update to follow… stay tuned!

Me & my BIG #2

Any guesses on who is which character??

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Crafting, Education, Expecting, Marriage, Motherhood, Party, Raising boys, Sesame Street, Toddlers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A big # 2…

  1. dara says:

    Can’t wait to see ya’ll on Friday..Danny is excited for a party to attend 😉 ..and you know we love our Sesame Street still!!

Leave a Reply

