My week as a SAHM… aka Spring Break

This was the busiest, most productive week I have had all year! But one of the few things I did not accomplish during my Spring Break was writing a durned thing. It’s like I was protesting anything seemingly academic, in honor of a week off from school. I was also, ironically, far busier than I am when I am working. [Don’t tell anyone that, but it’s true.] Being a Stay-at-Home-Mom is some serious round’ the clock shit. But it was still a nice break from the norm, and I welcomed the absence of a 5am alarm all week long. But alas, my “break” was far from a break. I had a medical appointment of some sort (audiologist, dentist, vet, etc.) four days out of five and I had quite a bit of lawn and garden maintenance to accomplish. Nary a weed had been pulled since last August, and we were hosting a barbecue in honor of a family member’s upcoming wedding. So I had to church up the joint. The fact that I had a little helper alongside me in all my chores made the work a lot less lonely and a learning experience for us both… and a little messy at times! But, here I am, Monday morning, back in front of my computer at school, attempting to reflect on my “break.” I have tired eyes and scowl of disbelief at how fast the week flew by, knowing this one won’t. And I’m a little dismayed at how many people keep asking where I “went” for break. I went home, stupid. And it was awesome because you weren’t there. Okay, sorry–Maybe that’s a little harsh. But why does one have to travel far and wide in order to enjoy some time off from the grind?

Well I have no Disneyland or Carnival Cruise scrapbook to share. (Kudos to you, if you do. I’m not mad.) But we are on far too tight a budget for that right now. Perhaps one day. In fact, now that I think about it, we didn’t even leave our small town at all the whole week. But I certainly feel like the added family time and more relaxed bedtime schedule counts for something, and we made the most of our “stay-cation.” So here’s a pictorial tribute to our Spring Break… plus a few handy tidbits, free to you from me.

WE ROOTED FOR OUR TEAM...
Stubborn infield dirt stains?
Scrub it with white toothpaste before you wash!

 

Don't want to give candy to little ones? Fill the eggs with goldfish and marshmallows!

WE HUNTED AND GATHERED...
Don't want to overdo the candy for little ones?
Fill the eggs with goldfish and marshmallows!

WE EXPLORED THE FINER POINTS OF GARDENING...
Get your littlest helper his or her own pair of little garden gloves and plastic spade at Lowes for $3 each!

WE EMBRACED OUR INNER REMBRANDT...
The Historic Suffolk Train Station Museum- a nice, daytime outing that doesn't take all day. And it's FREE!

WE LAUGHED OUT LOUD...
Don't assume poorly framed photographs are no good! Sometimes crooked, candid shots can be the most charming and cherished.

WE CELEBRATED...
Chalkboard paint on an older appliance covers rust spots and makes a fun drawing/writing surface for kids!

WE PLAYED WELL WITH OTHERS...
Don't be disappointed if a well-planned playdate goes awry! Toddlers can be unpredictable and far from rational. Bail and try again another day.

WE GOT DIRTY...
1. Kids are washable. Relax. And let them get yucky!
And 2. Sometimes the the un-vacations are the most memorable ones. This was my best Spring Break yet.

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My week as a SAHM… aka Spring Break

  1. Heather says:

    “I went home stupid. And it was awesome because you weren’t there.” seriously made me laugh out loud! Actually I am still laughing!! Glad you had a good break πŸ™‚

  2. rhiannon106 says:

    I did the same thing you did over Spring Break, except I did it at my mom’s house. I could easily spend my days sleeping on the couch in the living room, taking Nes to School, lunching with my sister, and playing with Pax until it’s time to pick up Nes. It was a pajama and child filled break, and I am so irritated that it’s over 😦

  3. Man, that’s a cute kid. It says something about where we work that pulling weeds is more fun than being here…

Leave a Reply

