What a “Super-Mom” can’t do…

You'd think we would have adapted to have an extra set of hands by now right?

You'd think we would have adapted to have an extra set of hands by now right?

The blogosphere is heavily populated with mommas these days. Don’t believe me? Google mom blogger and see how many hits you get. Astounding isn’t it? We’re everywhere, touting our super-human mommy strength and unprecedented multi-tasking abilities. We’re sharing favorite crock-pot recipes and crafty DIY projects.  We’re narrating parenting horror stories, from toddler tantrums to teen troubles. We’re sharing tips and tricks about potty training, bedtime routines, homework survival and more.

It's a bird, it's a plane... It's SUPER MOM!

This subculture has three main categories: There are the stay-at home-moms (SAHM), the work-from-home-moms, and the professional moms. And we all talk about how we can do everything a man can do, and more, only it’s one handed and without complaining, and all before the casserole is finished baking. Shew-wee! There are even boastful quotations floating about, such as “I’m a mom, what’s your superpower?” Now don’t get me wrong, I dig the mommy empowerment schtick as much as the next Super-Mom. And I love how being Zac’s mother makes me feel like the most special person in the whole world, at least to one person. I just wonder how many of us take a good, honest look at the things that we can’t do because we are moms…

Now that I’m a mommy, I can’t:

pee alone.

sleep past 7:30 am (without the guilts.)

spend $100 on a pair of shoes for myself, just because.

enjoy a second cup of coffee.

sneeze three times without trouble.

have my own beverage.

watch an entire movie at home.

eat my dinner sitting down.

put knives in the dishwasher.

have noisy sex at 2am.

milk a hangover in peace.

go purseless.

go braless.

have an uninterrupted phonecall.

cuss without spelling.

go to the beach (or pool, or boat dock, or anyplace with water deeper than a thimble) with my family and actually RELAX.

go into Walmart™ or Target™ for just one thing. (Oh who am I kidding, I could never do that anyway.)

 

So as it turns out, there are a lot of things this “super-momma” can’t do these days. But for every obstacle or hindrance that accompanies parenthood, there are sweet, sleepy snuggles and sloppy goodnight kisses. There are  magical Christmas mornings and countless silly stories to read. And there’s a sticky little hand that just wants to hold mine. So I’m okay with it.

...redefining love.

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What a “Super-Mom” can’t do…

  1. Aspasia says:

    So true… I just love the way you put it into words though. Your sense of humor is right on. Every time.

  2. Stephanie says:

    I like the one about sneezing! Haha! So true!

  3. I like the one about sneezing! Haha! So true! Well, all of them are true!

  4. I totally forgot to include burn candles on my end tables! But I totally canNOT do that anymore.

  5. V says:

    ok, these made me laugh out loud. These are SO true! Especially the one about sleeping past 7:30 without the guilts…

    http://2bestfriendschubbyroadtoskinny.blogspot.com/

  6. auntie k says:

    hahaha Love this post! Especially the list of things you can’t do now that your mom..I’m sure all mommies feel the same!

Leave a Reply

