Vegas, baby! Vegas!

Five years ago today, I walked down the “aisle” at the Little White Wedding Chapel in Las Vegas, Nevada and married my best friend. Not in that cheesy “you complete me” kind of

"I DO" ...No, I really really do.

way, but like for real. He finds me beautiful, even when I don’t. He calls me on my bullshit when I need it… and I need it. And he’s a great apologizer. He’s had practice.

Our marriage these five years has been… how shall we say it?…a work in progress. Every relationship has it’s peaks and pits, and it’s not all sunshine and slow dances, but I’ve always felt like Newman and I have had to work extra hard to overcome our obstacles. Mainly because the ones we have placed directly in our own paths over the years have been pretty friggin huge. But I’m proud of where we are today, in our love and in our life. And I’ve taken some time today to view some mental snapshots of how life looked five years ago, and how life looks now. We’ll call them “THEN” and “NOW.”

Bedtime THEN–> Whenever! Midnight? Sometime after last call? 3 AM?

Bedtime NOW–> 9 PM. Sharp. If I see 3 AM, it’s because I am getting up to meet someone else’s needs. (Cat wants in. Old dog has to pee. Baby needs a momma moment. Cat wants out.)

Grocery List THEN–> beer, Red Baron’s pizzas, Eggos, beer, frozen burritos, easy cheese, Doritos, beer, whatever else we see that we happen to want at that moment makes it into the basket.

Grocery List NOW–> milk, V8 Splash, turkey dogs, wheat bread, Eggos, part skim string cheese, red grapes, bananas, boneless chicken breasts, Activia, peas, corn, pedialyte, heinie wipes. And anything else I have a decent coupon for. (Apparently I still like Eggos.)

What I found under the sofa cushions THEN–> a lighter, 8 beer bottle caps, 4 cheetos, $16.22.

What I find under the sofa cushions NOW–> 11 pieces of captain crunch, the remote I’ve been looking for for 2 days, a booger.

Sunday mornings THEN–> began at roughly 11:00; consisted of nursing a hangover, watching trash TV, ordering in.

Sunday mornings NOW–> begin around 7:30 with Mickey Mouse Clubhouse (hotdog dance required); breakfast, followed by playing, cleaning up, then playing… and cleaning up, playing, and then more cleaning up.

I could recount for days about the difference 5 years of wedded bliss, a mortgage, and a baby have made… but recapping how my jeans are larger and my bank account is smaller would be a bore. We have grown. We have changed. We have created. We have loved deeply and completely. We have nearly killed each other a couple of times. But most importantly, we are sharing this life, and all the shit that comes with it, together. Thick and thin and lots of other cliches that adorn anniversary cards, which incidentally, neither one of us bought this year. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have tiny socks to to sort, a football game to ignore, and a bedtime to make.

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Family, Marriage, Parenting, Uncategorized, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Vegas, baby! Vegas!

  1. Kelly Hardison says:

    Congrats to both of you! I love reading your blogs:) They make me smile & giggle at times!!
    Keep doing what you do πŸ™‚

  2. Bedell says:

    I think you said everything I would say!! Love u Debbie Sue πŸ™‚

  3. Barbara O'Berry says:

    Your posts are too good NOT to pass along to my girls. LOVE them! (the posts, I mean. And, of course, my girls!) You make me smile! And…congrats on the 5 years. We just celebrated 40. No comment.

  4. Thanks for the support and congrats on 40 years! That’s a feat to be proud of! Do share your secret. πŸ™‚

  5. Milla says:

    Vegas? Who DOES that?

    Congratulations. Good to know that all the praying I do for Newman has made a difference.

  6. Diana T. says:

    I can’t wait to find boogers in my couch cushions… πŸ™‚

    Great post.

  7. Amy says:

    Your best post so far–loved the then/now stuff. It’s easy to see how exponentially you’ve grown in the last 5 years…congratulations on your anniversary, and much much love to you, Newman, Connor and Zac…

  8. Heather Cadorette says:

    I love ya’ll. Congratulations! Sometimes you need to have a beer and a Red Baron pizza!

    • amanda says:

      Your mom sent me the link to your blog spot and I must say I am enjoying reading your stuff! I’m actually at work now reading it out loud to her and we are Lol πŸ™‚ just wanted to say great work!

  9. Nancy F says:

    You are so clever and such a delight to read! Congrats on EVERYTHING:))). Hug Bagwell for me

Leave a Reply

