My life is over…

My life is over.  Ok maybe that’s a little melodramatic. Christmas break is nearly over, and thus marks the 2nd hardest weekend of the year. (Taking 1st place by a moderate margin, of course, is the final weekend of summer vacay.) With the New year still left to celebrate tomorrow night, I woke up this morning feeling less grateful than I should for the nearly 2 paid weeks I’ve had off to enjoy the holidays with my family. Why? Because it’s almost over. I realize this is not mature, nor productive, but I don’t care.

It has also dawned on me that the next 48 hours must be filled with “De-Christmasing” my house,  finding a million and one things that need to be cleaned in the process (enter hyperbole)… and worst of all, grading the 72 research papers I vowed to do 5 at a time each day over the break. Does that ever happen? Oh please. That’s like saying I’ll only eat one cheeto, or I’ll just read one more page before I turn off the light. Or I really don’t need a gift, just your love!  (ahem::BULLSHIT::ahem) That’s just not the way it works with human people.

So in lieu of going back to work and being normal or whatever, here’s what I’d like to continue doing, because I  have enjoyed it so much these past 2 weeks of Christmas break:

1. Sleep till 8 (8:30?) and have eggos with my little bear while we watch Disney cartoons and make faces at each other. (Because this is a much nicer alternative to dragging him out of his crib and into the car at 6:30 and then leaving him for 9 hours.)

2. Decide around lunch time whether we are going to put on real pants or not.

3. Have play dates and shopping trips and outside time and visit people we like.

4. Nap midday.

5. Make pretend train tracks out of furniture and forts out of giftboxes and messes out of everything! (Only to clean it up and do it again later.)

6. Have extra hubby time because we stay up late and watch TV and snack on junk, knowing we don’t have to be up and at’em at 5am.

7. Fix things, clean things, make things, cook things, and enjoy things I usually don’t have time to fix, clean, make, cook or enjoy during a work week.

But alas, all good things must come to an end. And in saying this I am reminded that it is a temporary end. In the profession I have chosen (teacherdom), I am lucky enough to have periodic stints of the afore-listed good stuff to celebrate. And celebrate I do– 2 weeks at Christmas, 1 week in the spring, 9 weeks over the summer… it kind of makes up for the icky feeling of vacation ending. And the un-awesome (read: shitty) pay.

So Happy New Year. CHEERS to going back to school on Monday feeling grateful and refreshed… as soon as I am through feeling bratty and immature.

Worse than the day after your birthday...

 

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My life is over…

  1. Please comment with what you’ve enjoyed most about the holidays! …you’d be surprised at how much nicer it is to enumerate your blessings instead of your grievances.

  2. Diana T. says:

    But my grievances are so much more fun to enumerate…please add to your list of things I will miss about our break: 8. Drinking too much and not caring about the consequences because I can have as many cups of coffee as I want the next morning. Because I have TIME for more than one cup of coffee.

    Can I just have 1 more week?

  3. Cynthia says:

    Is it over?! Opposite for the stay at home mother! We are ever grateful to our hard working teachers who teach our cherubs all day long! Just getting Christmas put away, today in fact! Our Christmas tree hangs out on the back porch for few week though!

Leave a Reply

