Full moon…

Today I actually entertained the debate in my classroom as to whether the hair that lay strewn across the commons area floor after a brawl was real or artificial. (These girls don’t play nice.) And this was not the most bizarre or obnoxious conversation to transpire in room 11 today… twas a full moon, for sure. Without the first glimpse into the sky, there is no doubt in my mind. Is it the excitement of the upcoming holiday break that has everyone in such a spin? Lord knows, we are all very much in need of some down time. There are not enough elves on shelves in the Western hemisphere to settle the agitated masses in a high school overrun with this much teen angst…. their hores are monin’ and LOUDLY.

I would like to say that my luck changed when I got home today. I would also like to tell you that Santa is real, and since the Perrys have all been really good this year, our stockings will be filled with cash Christmas morning. And I would also like to tell you I have a pint of Chunky Monkey in my freezer right now that I’m going to partake of in just a bit. But, alas, none of these are true and Zac was under the influence of the full moon today as well.

At 18 months, Mr. Zacman, the great, has developed some independence… and some opinions. Neither of these worked in my favor at dinner time. He didn’t want his, and he didn’t want me to enjoy mine either. No fair. And fancy that he wont let me reason with him. Everything I offered him was met with “uh-uh, mommy!” which is so cute, it’s nearly annoying that I couldn’t get upset with him.  So I snuck some yogurt and baby cereal into his milk (yes, at 18 months and 32 pounds I still worry if he didn’t eat well) and gave up on meat and vegetables for the evening.

A good solid tantrum, complete with sneaker scuffs on my fridge door, and a couple time-outs later (I swear I wasn’t provoking him), it was bath time and we were in the home stretch. As always, my little boy knows just when to turn on the charm. A wet headed, pajama clad, sleepy monkey climbed up on my lap for our nightly story and cuddle time, and as he leaned his head back up against my chest, I think we both heaved a sigh of relief. He was two and a half handfuls this afternoon and still owes the cat an apology, but by bedtime, he renewed his awareness of the naughty list and sought to be removed from it. Done and done, kiddo.

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Full moon…

  1. Heather Cadorette says:

    Very sweet. I can almost smell his sweet little soapy head cuddled up for story time. Sigh…….

  2. Kristen Dunn says:

    You are the reason I love to read & write, love your blog 🙂

    I miss you and the fiesty little man! Need to come see you guys over Christmas break!

  3. Thank you! What a wonderful compliment! Can’t wait to see you and little KayaBug!

  4. DJ WEINSTEIN MD says:

    New I raised you right. Now if you could only learn to express yourself…

Leave a Reply

