When quiet is bad…

I called to him… “Zaccababy, come help mommy put away toys,” and he didn’t answer me with his usual “Tay, mama.” In fact, I heard nothing. Nothing at all.  I turned around and he was, for lack of a more accurate or specific description, simply not there.  I walked to the kitchen sink behind me and looked through the window above it into the living room. I didn’t see him there. I craned my neck down the somewhat narrow hallway toward our bedrooms, and I didn’t see him, or even hear his chubby feet slapping the wood floor. I didn’t hear him chattering at his “kee-cat.” I didn’t hear him drumming on the air conditioning vent with various utensils. I didn’t hear him opening and slamming the broom closet door with a “ZAH!” What I heard was deafening silence.

The moment you realize you cannot locate your child, the feeling of utter terror only slightly outweighs the feeling of complete failure. As I raced through the house, I tried to remain calm. Rationalizing… if he was hurt, I’d hear him cry, right? Wait, would I? Maybe I’d misunderstood Newman when he left a minute ago, and he’d taken the baby with him. How is he not right behind me playing with spoons like he was just a minute ago? And how will I ever explain this to my mother? None of these questions were finding me my baby.

Luckily I was at home and not at Wal-Mart (where the crazies go), and luckily my house is not that big. I found him an agonizingly long 2 minutes later– Sitting in my bed, staring contentedly at a re-run of Law and Order, munching on a taco shell. Seriously, Zac? Classic. The best part is, I didn’t give him the taco shell, nor did I realize we had any taco shells. Apparently, I keep them on the bottom shelf, next to the rice and macaroni. Who knew? Zac knew.

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When quiet is bad…

  1. Heather Cadorette says:

    Super scary! I can feel your panic. I too have watched over the children of strangers in a variety of retail environments. My favorite one was the lady in Sears that left her 3 year old daughter alone in dressing room while she went out to get some other size chioces for the pants that she was trying on. The little darling got scared after her mom had been gone for so long and ended up crawling under the wall of the dressing room an sitting on the bench looking at my sorry sagging middle aged ass. Luckily I’m not a child molester or general pervert and I kept her company while we waited for her mama to come back. You can bet her momma got an earful from me when she did finally return.

Leave a Reply

