ACCESS DENIED-

So as it turns out, the adage “kill em with kindness” doesn’t actually mean they die afterward. Damn, what a waste of effort. Even still, this is my new mantra for dealing with teenagers in my classroom this year. Meet the new and improved, smarmy, Mrs. Pleasant Perry. Even these foreign creatures <betwixt the ages of 13 and 19> have a hard time continuously beating you down when you are being extremely, relentlessly, and unfalteringly  NICE.  It drives them crazy. Which is just a bonus for me.

It’s like they have no sense of who is to blame for what. All they know is that they are mad, and whatever the problem is, it cannot possibly be their own fault. Oh yeah, and the world owes them big time. I’m the easiest available target. So I shoulder most of their angsty, hormoney, crud. And believe me, it is difficult to hold back the first retort that springs to mind when they mindlessly utter such phrases as, “Oh we had homework? That’s gay, man!”  or “This school sucks, Yo.” <Don’t make me dole out a “when I was your age” speech, please. Quite frankly, I find that side of me unbecoming and I’m not in the mood.> I’m not sure, and I can’t get a straight answer from anyone, why everything “sucks” or is “gay,” but ask any teenager on planet earth and they will tell you at least 14 things they saw that day that gayly suck. Whatever. And furthermore, why must everyone be addressed as “Yo?” That doesn’t even qualify as a pronoun.

Anyway… I was feeling inspired (or at the very least, full of myself) and I wanted to blog about my perception of today’s generation–Nevermind that the older generation considers me part of it. And so I went to open my blog, and lo and behold! Access. Denied. On my place of employment’s server, you cannot access websites on which the “Weighted Phrase Limit is Exceeded.” Story O’ my life. Hil-fuckin-larious.

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

