Changing leaves, pumpkins, and guilt… It’s FALL!

Ahhh FALL. Tis the season for teacher moms across America to take take a big ol’ bite out of your fresh guilt sandwich and keep chewing till Christmas. Yes, you’re sending your little muffin cakes back to the sitter each day, as you go focus on raising other people’s children. There is something so very warped about this feeling, indescribable in words, other than bullshit.

But, as with each *challenge (*code- bullshit/guilt sandwich), I try to commemorate (commiserate?) all of the wonderful things that also accompany the arrival of Fall and the new school year. Because waking up at 5 am each day ain’t it, the list is as follows:

1. Candy corn. It is an amazing gift from God. And by God, I mean Brachs. But why it is only manufactured and sold during the Autumn months is a mystery that remains to be solved.

2. Football. Not that I care for football at all actually, but it gives the men folk something to feel fanatical about (now that baseball is over for a minute) and me an excuse to make chili. I love chili.Maybe this should just say   2. Chili.

3. Sweater weather. I love when there is just enough nip in the air to warrant an old, faithful sweater. (But not 27 runny noses in my classroom cold.) Sweaters are cozy and lovely. The same goes for boots.

4. Pumpkin spice lattes. Pumpkin spice beer.  Pumpkin spice candles.  October is when everything is delicious.

5. Weekends are special again. As wicked as Mondays are once school resumes, Fridays are inversely spectacular.

So here it is… It is really difficult to get back in to the swing of getting up unnaturally early every day. It is even more difficult to revert to the practice of leaving my precious boy in someone else’s care full time. And being a high school English teacher comes with a full volume of reasons why I wish it was still summer. BUT… I am looking at the new school year as a new beginning. Each year, my job allows for a fresh start, a clean slate– a do over, if you will.  Now that’s almost as refreshing as a Sam Adams Oktoberfest.

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Changing leaves, pumpkins, and guilt… It’s FALL!

  1. Amy says:

    Perfect. I love the concept of leaving your child with someone so you can tend to the children of others. But, as they say, it takes a village…
    Have I mentioned that I love your wicked sense of humor??

  2. Heather Cadorette says:

    UMMMMMMMM… Pumpkin spice beer…….uuuummmmmm!!! Drew brought home some seasonal beer the other night and I was almost tempted to try it. But in the end, it was beer and beer=YUCK. I’ll stick to my marga-daiquri-screw-a-lotta-onthebeach or a nice box of Chillable Red wine (Hey, last week was a good year!). Thank you very much. As much as I love the snap in the air it gets overpowered by the scent of AXE body spray and teenage angst in which my students wallow. Where fall was once my favorite season it is now accompanied by the overwhelming dread of returning to the salt mines of the educational system.

  3. Axe and angst is better than the aroma of newports and feet that seems to pervade my classroom of late. Barf.

Leave a Reply

