Dream analysis, compost, and other things we learned on vacation…

Vacation is the one week of the year, designed for fun and relaxation, that somehow you feel the need to recover from once it’s over.  This past weekend, my family took the annual plunge. Annapolis, MD was the destination for visiting wonderful family and soaking up some sun. But I managed to soak up more than that, as is usually the case.

My cousin Amy and her husband Dave are the kind of folks (Sorry for the colloquialism, but I’m from Suffolk, ya’ll.) that, within 5 minutes of their company, you just feel like smiling. They exude positivity and goodness. And, at the risk of sounding a little Hallmarky,  you simply cannot spend time around them without learning some sort of lesson. And I don’t mean a lesson about split infinitives or overseas investment. But, LIFE lessons. And Monday morning, as I rode shotgun on the way home, I reflected on what I’d absorbed during our stay.

1. Encourage your kids to put a little more “yes please” and “No thank you” in their day, not “Sure” or “Nah”– It goes a long way and people notice.

2. Vegetables are for eating… and composting. Worms are people too!  …In addition, small environmental efforts don’t really take that much “effort.” What if this planet is the only thing I have to leave my kids?

3. Dreams are your brain’s way of sending a metaphorical message to you through images and scenes that are usually NOT directly related to what they are actually “about.” And you don’t have to be Sister Sophia, the corner store palm reader, to figure them out, either. <This is a topic for later discussion, yes?>

4. Not everyone is used to flying blueberries and tiny sticky handprints, but people who can roll with it anyway are ultra cool.

5. Fear is your brain and your body saying, “You’re doing something worthwhile! GO!”

6. I can blog. And I should. So here I am.  TA-DAAA!

I do not claim to have some universal truth or answers to the world’s questions. I’m just a country mom, living simply, and learning every day. I want to share my thoughts and strifes and lessons and.. and.. with whomever has time to read them!

And I’ll close this first entry with a quotation– (because “quote” is a verb.)

“…If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” -Albert Einstein

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dream analysis, compost, and other things we learned on vacation…

  1. Amy says:

    Worms ARE people, too! If, of course, you believe in crawly insect totems. Love it that you’re writing–it’s like seeing your random Facebook postings turned into longer stories, which satisfies my huge desire to have more of you in my life!
    Can’t wait to see what wicked truths you have in store, and to have this ‘journal’ of your motherhood.
    Big Love (and not the kind the Mormons practice),
    Amy

Leave a Reply

