From attitude to gratitude… a class project.

Do you say it enough?

In an effort to bring some positivity to an otherwise glum week, I have instated a mandatory thank you policy in my classroom. If anyone does or says anything nice/helpful on your behalf, you must pause and make make an effort to thank them specifically and sincerely for whatever it is they said or did. <NOTE: Insincere compliments or thank yous earn you extra homework… or at the very least, my unaffected scorn.>I know it may sound like a rather elementary practice for my 11th graders, but trust me when I say that the manners practice is much-needed, community-wide.

In addition, my students will be writing weekly thank you letters for  “stand-out” actions. The letters can be to friends, classmates, teachers, coaches, parents, or whomever they choose, for whatever action they wish to show gratitude for in writing. And as I truly believe that the thank-you letter is a sadly forgotten art, I am trying to bring it back with gusto. The beautiful thing I have learned from this effort? Gratitude is contagious. So here are my random Wednesday thank yous, in no particular order.

Thank you, “Lunch Bunch,” for always making me laugh. I couldn’t make it through the work week (without stabbing someone) without our daily stories, mundane gossip, and our general silliness, even if it is a mere 20 minutes a day. Hearts and unending fudgy brownies to Gwen, Diana, & Virginia.

Thank you, hubster, for being my partner in crime… and dishes… and raking… and History Channel zoning. You more than make up for the occasional toilet seat error, and your chest makes a decent pillow.  <XOXX>

Lawn maintenance crew chief

 

Thank you, Zachary, for sweet snuggles, hilarious gestures, and your overall unique YOU’ness. You never cease to amaze me with your expanding mind and effervescent curiosity. Oh and thanks for “helping” with the leaves yesterday; that was fun!

 

Thank you, experienced mommas, for always sharing advice and anecdotes with me to guide me through my own journey as a parent. It’s nice to know that I am not entirely crazy… or if I am, that I am not alone in my insanity! Special momma props to Gina, Liz B, Amy Z, my sisters, & my Gran.

Bagwell & Gypsy... aka Bissell & Hoover.

 

Thank you, Bagwell and Gypsy, for being excellent doorbells, entertaining your boy, and cleaning up his dinner mess. Vacuum, schmacuum.  And a special thanks to Gypsy for teaching Zac to give kisses in such a charming manner. The cat and I sincerely hope you both outgrow this practice real soon.

 

Thank you, Dad, for giving me your challah bread, even though I know you love it too.  And thank you for bringing over ‘cookables’ when I am not wholly prepared for supper. And thank you for showing up with flowers just because. And most of all, thank you for being a wonderful Pop Pop. Zac thinks you’re cooler than Santa and Elmo combined.

That is all for now, though I am certain I have many other people and blessings to be thankful for. Like the little girl on my street peddling thin mints… she rocks.

Manna from Heaven

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From attitude to gratitude… a class project.

  1. Heather Cadorette says:

    Thank you for being my friend.

  2. Amanda says:

    I am new at blogging and just found yours via a comment you made on mombloggersclub (FB). I love yours and its simplicity. And most of all I like that it’s all about you and your family…period. I’m totally with you about manners and thank-you’s being a lost art. My post on my own little fledgling blog is about our experience yesterday with those with no manners as my son held open doors for them. Lordy! Anyway…thanks for allowing me to visit and follow. – Amanda

    • Amanda, Thanks for reading and for the feedback. I’ll be sure to return to the mandymix as well! There’s just something about being mommy to a little boy.. and I am glad to hear that there are more of us out there trying to raise GENTLEMEN. Look for a new post coming soon about kid responsibilities!

Leave a Reply

