What next? (Knock on wood.)

It never occurred to me during the entire time I was cradling my sick baby,  soothing his whimpers, and toweling his sweaty little head (Oh, and catching his puke with my own pajamas)… that I might get this nasty bug too. The thought never crossed my mind that I better be careful not to get what he’s got, even around 3 am when we were both on our third set of pajamas and second load of laundry. There’s something about being in mommy-mode that makes you turn off any self-serving thoughts and tend entirely to the needs of another, whatever it takes. And so I earned my Super-Mom wings Wednesday, between about midnight and 5am. And I wasn’t even tired. Weird right? Zac finally got some rest and relief, around dawn, when he passed out on his belly on a towel at the foot of my bed, limp as a wet dishrag. Poor little dude. I moved him to his crib (with the towel) and he never stirred.

Dishrag.

Newman came home early from his night shift job at La Shipyard so that I could go in to school at 6am to get a substitute plan and materials in order for my students. I was feeling a little badly that it’s only the second day of the new semester and I am needing to be absent…  I don’t want my new students to think I’m flaking out on them the first week! But my little bear comes first. Always. Without exception.  <Side-note– I was flabbergasted by the amount of fellow teachers already there at that hour. We are counted late at 7:11am. I pull in the parking lot typically around 7:03. What’s with these people?> Anyway, I got my classroom prepared and organized to function adequately without me and headed home to my hubby and my dishrag.

Zac slept till about 9:30, and woke up with more energy and higher spirits than I expected.  Not much of an appetite, but nonetheless, feeling froggy. We made lego towers and read stories and built train tracks (with book tunnels, of course) and watched plenty of cartoons. He took a long bubble bath and sang to his tugboats, had lunch in his playhouse, and before I knew it, it was naptime for him again. (ie.- Mommy’s Pinterest time) It was turning out to be a decent sick day day indeed. I had no idea what mayhem was to befall me that very night. I will spare you the details of my next 24 hours of misery, which began at approximately 3:47 am Friday morning, causing me a second day absent from school. But take your absolute worst, knock-down-drag-out hangover, triple it and add a toddler. To add insult to injury, Hubby joined in the fun the next day, not to be outdone. Oh goody.

My real point in telling you about the Perry Family Pukefest 2012? The underlying truths I absorbed through the battle…

My son, at almost 20 months of age, is more stoic and resilient than anyone I have ever known. Momma had a harder time bouncing back than this little ball of fire.

Hand sanitizer may have been wise Wednesday night/Thursday morning. Along with some Lysol and a gasmask. Lesson learned.

Mom's best friend.

I would rather have the “stink-bug” again TWICE than have my husband get it again.

A family that pukes together… also shares pink-eye pretty quickly.

For the first time in a reeeally long time, I am looking forward to getting the weekend BEHIND ME.  Here’s to a happy HEALTHY next week!

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What next? (Knock on wood.)

  1. Heather Cadorette says:

    Poor baby!!! Glad ya’ll are feeling better now. I know how useless a sick man can be.

  2. mrsparr says:

    My daughter gave me the stomach bug twice in two months when she was about 1. And a couple times since then. She usually gets sick ONCE and then won’t eat for a day and I wonder if it was a bug or something she ate or a fluke…until about 24 hours later when we as a family all get to find out together what it was…. Glad you came out the other side! My experience is no amount of hand washing/Lysol (haven’t tried the gasmask yet, maybe that’s the trick) will keep you from getting it once the first puke flies….

Leave a Reply

