Crescent lessons…

Stuff me and eat me. Please.

This is not a foodie blog. Nor do I intend to make it one. But the simple fact remains that I have never been able to keep a good idea to myself, whether it be for the kitchen, the classroom, the nursery, or whatever. So to piggy-back on a previous post about neat ideas I have learned on Pinterest… I thought I would extrapolate on my Pillsbury crescent roll theory.  As I mentioned in “Everything I need to know I learned on Pinterest,” you can stuff em with just about anything to create a delicious, easy snack, or even revamp leftovers into something fun and tasty. A roll of eight crescents is under $2 if you buy generic, and there are two-fer and three-fer coupons for Pillsbury brand in the paper every Sunday, making them generic priced. Win-win!  Here is a list of food combinations that work beautifully, in this mama’s opinion. Just roll the ingredients up in a crescent, and bake as directed on the can! (Usually 375 for 11-13 min)

1. Pepperonis and 1/2  a mozzarella string cheese… a must try. And then a must try not eat them all at once. Good luck.

2. A few leaves of fresh spinach, a dab of olive oil, and a spoonful of ricotta cheese, garlic salt (Frozen spinach works too, but thaw it and drain it really well)… Tried this one the other night– very delicious.

3. A spoonful of Rotel (drain well!) and some shredded cheese. I like the Mexican 4 cheese blend. Add a jalapeno slice if you’re feeling like some heat! … EASY. And a perfect ballgame snack or appetizer to taco night!

4.  A smear of butter, a slice (or 2) of peeled apple, and a dash of cinnamon… then you can say “Would you like an apple pie with that?!”

5. Shredded chicken, a smear of cream cheese (or bleu cheese dressing), a dash or 2 of hot sauce or wing sauce… Great way to put leftover chicken to use. The canned stuff works in a pinch too.

6. Mini-marshmallows, chocolate chips… want S’more?

7. Little smokie (miniature wiener) and barbeque sauce. I think this one’s pretty standard. I’m not taking credit for it… Hard to screw up.

8. A spoonful of browned, drained, ground beef, and a folded half slice of American cheese (Think melty cheeseburger effect) This also works with your favorite lunch meat & cheese… A man pleaser. Meat+cheese=DUH.

9. A thin tomato wedge, a hunk of feta, a few sliced olives (A little basil is a nice touch here if you have it.) … Greek to me!

10. A smear of ricotta or cream cheese and a spoonful of fruit preserves of your choice. (I like pepper jelly too.) … Add mimosas, and Voila! Brunch!

11. A spoonful of leftover Mac n’ cheese. … If the Cheesecake factory can fry it into balls, I can roll it in a crescent.

12. Pulled. Pork. Barbeque. … I recommend Bubba & Frank’s in Carrollton. It’s drive way out of your way good.

13. Half a colby jack cheese stick (Sargento is the best), half a slice of crispy bacon, a few chives or spring onions. … I was going for a loaded baked potato sort of theme. Haven’t tried this one yet.

14. A slice of roasted red pepper, a smear of goat cheese, a clove of garlic… Breath beware!

15. Lox (smoked salmon), cream cheese, capers. … Back to my roots. Now go call your mother. 

16. A hunk of smoked Gouda and some dried cranberries… Ok, this one’s a little pretentious, sorry.

17. A piece of lightly steamed asparagus (still a little crunchy) and some Parmesan cheese. Yes, it’s supposed to stick out. …A fancy little hors d’oeuvre. And yes I googled the spelling of that word.

18. Elmers glue and glitter. No, I’m kidding. This would be beautiful, but not delicious.

These ideas are a combination of my own innovations and those of my friends, and of course some basics. PLEASE COMMENT BELOW any ideas you can add to the list. I love trying new stuff!

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crescent lessons…

  1. Heather Cadorette says:

    Try a pat of butter, cinnamon and sugar with optional of smear of cream cheese. Goodness!!!

Leave a Reply

