Monkey see… monkey do. God help us.

#11- Thou shalt not do stupid stuff in front of the baby...

We have officially arrived at that (awful?) (adorable?) place where Zachary is repeating and mimicking much of what we say and do. In other words, now is a good time to stop saying and doing rude, stupid, or otherwise off-color things! At least with audience. I would pass this handy suggestion on to my husband, but as it turns out, he finds these little “ape” episodes more amusing than embarrassing. In fact, he seems to find them more amusing than anything. So here’s the most recent issue of the Perry Family Copycat Diaries… which I may never live down.

My husband and I are standing at the register to pick up our Tuesday takeout; I am holding Zac on my hip, as usual. And without warning, he reaches for the V-neck of my shirt, pulls it all the way to my armpit, drops his face down to my chest, and gives his best “motorboat”— then looks up with a very satisfied grin and shouts… wait for it… “DADDDYYYYY!”

The cashier and I competed for shades of burgundy upon our faces, eyes scanning the area unsuccessfully for a hole to crawl into. But Zac and Newman were lost in laughter, along with the two customers behind us, and three guys at the bar, one of which was the father of one of my students. Hello ‘insult to injury,’ nice to meet ya!   So having no other choice, as my invisibility cloak is currently at the dry-cleaners, I gave in and laughed too, at my own expense. But I’m currently in the market for a new Tuesday takeout venue. Suggestions are welcome.

On a more serious note… Zac’s new verbal awareness is teaching me to keep my words sweet, lest something ugly be repeated from his precious little mouth. I want him to learn positive and beautiful things from his mother. Not my short temper or potty mouth! I was worried the other day when he was pounding the fridge with his little fists and calling it an asshole. Thankfully he just wanted an apple. Shew!

About dramafreemama

I am a wife, homeowner, teacher, sister, pet-owner, and friend...But the most humbling and moving role in my life to date is that of a mother, or better yet, a MOMMY. We live in a rural area of Virginia and we keep it simple. This blog is about juggling life in all these different roles. Please subscribe/follow and ENJOY!
This entry was posted in Child behavior, Embarrassing moments, Family, Marriage, Motherhood, Parental responsibility, Parenting, Potty talk, Raising boys, The public, Toddlers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

